Toilet trouble and a possible solution

Ok this is a post about a quite odd topic but I still want to write a short post about it. It’s about the problem girls can have when using the squat style toilets that are common in Nepal and other parts of Asia, and a possible solution. I’m guessing that anyone who isn’t used to that type of toilet gets a little confused and worried about how it will work to use it.

I have read that the squat toilet is actually more natural and good for the body, and even if it is it takes time to learn how to use it. First of all it takes some practice to sit right and your legs need to get used to that position or else they will start to fall asleep if it’s taking too long time. It can also be difficult for older people or those who have some problem with their legs to sit in that position if you’r not used to it. Here’s a useful guide on how to use this type of toilet that I found.

One problem that this guide, and other ones as well, don’t take into account is that it’s difficult for us girls to aim. Perhaps there’s some technique for that that the girls who grew up there know about but at least for me, and I guess for other girls as well, it’s a real problem, trying to aim right and pee slowly so there is lower risk of spatter getting on the shoes, feet or pants. Most guides describe how to use the toilet traditionally but I want to share another possible solution that solves this aiming issue.

At home (family’s house, friends house, hotel etc) it’s a little easier since you might have less or looser fitting clothes on, or you can take your time and take off your pants. Also you probably have soap, water and maybe a towel close by so you can wash your feet after you’re done. But for other situations it gets a bit trickier, like when you’re travelling and stopping at a road side restaurant, bus station or somewhere else. Then you can’t take off your clothes and it might not be possible to wash your feet either, depending on the cleanliness of the place and what kind of clothes and shoes you are wearing. This was always my least favourite part of travelling to new places with bus, using road side toilets.

Shewee

After a tip I found some products that offer a solution to this problem and the one I think seems best is Shewee, it comes in pink or green, with an extension pipe and a case for storage so you can keep it with you when you need it. It works like a funnel (like the one people usually have in the kitchen, only smaller and a little different shape) with a longer pipe, so we girls can pee similar like a guy. It’s very easy to use, but it’s a good idea to practice at home first, perhaps in the shower, until you’re sure you know what you are doing. Be sure to read the instructions too! At first glance it’s easy to think that you just hold the funnel against your body but that will definitely cause an accident. The right way to do it is to let the back end rest against your body and keep a space open in the front, a few millimetres or up to a full centimetre should work as well.

I haven’t tried mine during travelling or out in nature yet, but I’m sure it’s just as easy to use there as it is here at home. I’ll definitely always keep the shewee in my handbag when travelling in Asian countries to make things easier. I’m also considering putting a small (10×10 cm) towel in the case for those times when toilet paper isn’t available, I don’t like the thought of putting my pants back on without getting dry first. I haven’t found any information about this, but when thinking about it I don’t think it should be a problem. From what I’ve heard it’s important to get dry and such a small towel can be washed easily all the time, it’s not like there will be any bacteria anyway since urine is sterile. I haven’t tried this yet so I can’t say for sure if I recommend it but still wanted to share this thought just in case anyone else want to try it before I get the chance to travel.

What do you think? Please leave a comment! :)

